Hate and Prejudice Will NOT Win!


A man trying to vote shortly after blacks had won the right. They were still intimidated and even today they are discriminated against, along with other minorities.

 

I look around and I am absolutely struck, daily, at the hate and prejudice that surround me.  All I have to do is log into my FaceBook account to get a full view of what is going on in the world today, as well as a trip through history, thanks to friends who post these wonderful articles and photos to keep us all thinking.

Today, I am immediately drawn to a link to an article about Charlie Rogers, an openly gay woman who lives in Nebraska. Just days ago, she was brutalized by men who broke into her home, beat her and carved slurs into her skin with a knife, poured gasoline on her and set her and tried to set her on fire. She just came forward and spoke about it for the first time.

Then I see that a politician in Florida has come clean about them actually having meetings to try to disenfranchise black voters in that state. As if I am not completely and 100% appalled at this point, then I am hit in the face with photos of “Mitt the Twit” on the pages of Britain’s tabloids and newspapers. He is busy embarrassing me and countless other Americans, as he is there to support his wife while her dressage horse that I’ve nicknamed “Tax Write-Off” competes. Actually, he’s been meeting with supporters and would-be supporters, trying to get some large donations to secure his presidency here. If Romney wins, I am positive that I’ll got abroad to work from other more progressive countries while I wait for him to be ousted here.

Like many Americans, my government does not speak for me. I would never attempt to keep entitled citizens from voting! I would never make fun of the people in another country. I believe that this is ONE WORLD and that we are all ONE PEOPLE.

When will there be no hate? Without hate and prejudice, there would be no wars. There would be no killing, murders, rapes, hangings, beatings or even bullying if there was no hate and no prejudice.  While these things make my heart heavy and sad, there are reasons to be happy in this world. There are positives and I look to them for hope.

In the wake of Chick-Fil-A openly admitting that they do indeed discriminate – something the gay community has known for years and didn’t point out so openly because the timing simply wasn’t right. Now the world is more on the side of equal rights and the tide is turning. Companies are coming out and openly supporting gay rights. 

Amazon is where I print all my books and I am SO proud that they have come forward in the wake of what Chick-Fil-A has done and shown that other companies who are much bigger and more powerful DO support us. It’s as if they gave the entire GLBTQ community a ‘group hug’ in my opinion.

Independent researchers and auditors have looked at the paper that was published this year, stating that gays and lesbians were not fit to be parents. These independent auditors have found that the paper was total bunk and unfounded. Here are their findings and I thank them for caring enough to clear things up for everyone, though I know that the closed minded individuals will still believe the bunk because that is what they choose to believe.

Namely, I’m thankful to the PEOPLE out there who have come forward and shown love and support for the victims of hate crimes, for their GLBTQ friends and family, for the minorities who are being disenfranchised DAILY in a country where we wanted to believe that those things couldn’t happen anymore. Thanks to all of YOU.

A citizen makes sure that you think twice about your purchase from the homophobic Chick-Fil-A!

 

Thanks, First Lady Michelle Obama! Your words hugged the GLBTQ community and told the world that we had a place in this country! The validation is appreciated.

 

Categories: equal rights, gay lesbian, lesbian | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Hate and Prejudice Will NOT Win!

  1. suzanne

    please review the 15th admendment to the constitution of the U.S. before posting blogs15th Amendment
    The last of the Reconstruction Amendments, the 15th Amendment was designed to close the last loophole in the establishment of civil rights for newly-freed black slaves. It ensured that a person’s race, color, or prior history as a slave could not be used to bar that person from voting. Though a noble idea, it had little practical effect for quite some time, as the Southern states found myriad ways to intimidate blacks to keep them from voting. The Congress passed the amendment on February 26, 1869, and it was ratified on February 3, 1870 (342 days).

    Though ratification of the 15th Amendment was not a requirement for readmittance of the Confederate states to the Congress, one of the provisions of the Reconstruction Acts required that the states include a provision in their new constitutions that included a near-copy of the text of the 15th. All of the CSA states except Tennessee, which was immune from the Reconstruction Acts, eventually ratified the 15th Amendment.

    • Hate is hate. I’m not sure if you grasp the meaning of the blog in the first place. It’s about a world full of hate and prejudice. Not about legalities. The laws are biased and outdated.

      • suzanne

        I was just trying to help you get the caption to the photo accurate…geeesh!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

