I Took The Long Way Home


The events in my life are responsible for shaping me in so many ways, however only recently did I come to realize that my reaction to those things is what truly shaped me … and held me back from actually living. It’s amazing to look back at your life and see the time wasted, the things screwed-up and opportunities that were just simply squandered.

Triumph, however, is realizing that you have the choice to change that, starting today. I’ve vowed to live my life by touching others now. Through writing, teaching and sharing I hope that my stories and my years of misery (brought on by myself) will help others to realize that life can and will go on as soon as you decide that it will. God speed. May you find your way ‘home’ too.

The words to the song are posted below. How wise are they!

So you think you’re a Romeo
playing a part in a picture-show
Take the long way home
Take the long way home

Cos you’re the joke of the neighborhood
Why should you care if you’re feeling good
Take the long way home
Take the long way home

But there are times that you feel you’re part of the scenery
all the greenery is comin’ down, boy
And then your wife seems to think you’re part of the
furniture oh, it’s peculiar, she used to be so nice.

When lonely days turn to lonely nights
you take a trip to the city lights
And take the long way home
Take the long way home

You never see what you want to see
Forever playing to the gallery
You take the long way home
Take the long way home

And when you’re up on the stage, it’s so unbelievable,
unforgettable, how they adore you,
But then your wife seems to think you’re losing your sanity,
oh, calamity, is there no way out?

Does it feel that you life’s become a catastrophe?
Oh, it has to be for you to grow, boy.
When you look through the years and see what you could
have been oh, what might have been,
if you’d had more time.

So, when the day comes to settle down,
Who’s to blame if you’re not around?
You took the long way home
You took the long way home………..

Categories: life lessons, love, self-help | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “I Took The Long Way Home

  1. GlitterGirl

    Thank you, thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart for so openly sharing so much about your struggles and the wisdom you’ve gotten from fighting through them. Your strength helps me remember to be strong, and shows that living a life honestly and courageously is worth the fight. I appreciate your gifts and that you share them so freely.

    • Your comment humbles me and pleases me greatly. I’ve decided to dedicate my life to trying to get through to people who need help and desperately want help. So many times we don’t know where to turn. Sometimes there is nowhere to turn except inward…and that can be the scariest place of all. Keep your chin in the air, glittergirl! Life is teaching you lessons that may not be clear yet, but when they come into focus, your life will make sense and you’ll feel an overwhelming sense of calm and peace within yourself. 🙂

  2. I remember you posting this video on your FB page and I had listened to it that day. I’m just now catching up with things here in WordPress world. Life has been hard in the last few weeks. Shoot, the last 20 years or so. I’d finally gotten the courage up (lil over a year ago now) to make life what *I* wanted and since that day, seems like everything has gone backwards when I was sure it would go forward. That surely, the universe would rejoice WITH me for having made a decision that had been so hard. Psssshhh!!! But what you have to say about the most relevant part of the things that happen to us residing in how we respond to it is exactly right. I just got gut-kicked again yesterday. Another child gone to live with her dad, for her protection and a new start. and I’m very desperately trying to hold onto this mentality. So I listened to this song again. My dad used to always say “you sure do like to learn things the hard way, don’t ya?” :p

    • You may rest assured that when you have not fully learned a lesson, the universe will continuously throw it at you over and over until you finally get it. I have only suddenly realize this. When my book “Falling Into The Abyss” comes out, I believe that you’ll benefit from it! God bless!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

