Stop Insulting America


Please Stop Insulting Americans, Our Politicians Have It Covered

Like most Americans right now, I’m simply amazed at how bad the Romney campaign has been run. First of all, I would not have voted for Mitt Romney anyway. I’m a woman. I believe that women should have the right to abort a pregnancy, if they wish to do so … especially in cases of rape or incest. Roe v. Wade was decided upon a long time ago. Furthermore, there are enough other issues at hand, than for us to be re-visiting laws that have been in place for generations. 

Secondly, I’m a lesbian and the far right-wing politicians who seem to be represented by the republican party, keep trying to defend DOMA and legislate my right to get married to whom I wish. You are infringing upon my civil rights. You need to study your American history! Our founding fathers specifically stated that there must be a separation of church and state. Several of our founding fathers were, in fact, atheists and they clearly saw religion as something dangerous to the new country. Congress, nor states, should be legislating anything to do with marriage. Marriage is done within the church. If a church marries someone, then it is marriage and should be recognized as any marriage is. This isn’t a government concern. Keep government out of the church and church out of the government. Period. You stay out of my bedroom and I’ll stay out of yours. That is the way it should be. My marriage isn’t going to effect your marriage anymore than getting rid of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell has hurt military readiness. After celebrating it’s first year after repeal, our military is as strong as it ever was. 

On policy, Mr Romney has yet to explain exactly how he would balance the budget. I have been listening intently. I’ve heard not one specific, well laid-out plan for creating jobs or balancing the budget. All I have heard are general comments that this is what he is going to do … but no offers to explain the details. The American people are supposed to take him at his word. 

Let’s see where that has gotten us so far. Mitt, you have been caught in several instances where you might easily be called a liar during this campaign. You weren’t part of Bain anymore when all those jobs were shipped overseas? Company records CLEARLY show that you were still on the payroll! You used the basement of your son’s home as your legal address so that you could vote in another state. Records show that you were, in fact, living in another state at that time. Your wife has told us about how you struggled in the early years, yet photos of the mansion that you both lived in at that time, which was purchased for over $880k, are available online. You sold this same home for over $2 million dollars. You finally released tax information and proudly announce that you’ve never paid less than 13%. Really? I’ve never paid less than 23%.

Mrs Romney spoke about how she remembers having to live on pasta and tuna. Did you ever go without food completely? Did you ever worry about your power being turned-off? How many times did you have to wash your laundry at the laundromat? Did you ever have to scrape-up the change at week’s end, only to realize you didn’t have enough to do everything, so you had to hang it to get it all dry?

When was the last time you bought a jar of peanut butter and a loaf of bread and known that was going to be your breakfast, lunch and dinner for a week? When did you last have to go without paying the property taxes until they were delinquent because your child needed the money for something at school – and you wanted your children to have what other kids have? These are the things that the 47% have to do on a regular basis!

When was the last time you were laid-off and found yourself facing eviction or foreclosure? How would you tell your children that they had to change schools because daddy lost his job and you had to give up your home and move in with family in another city? When was the last time you took your kids camping for a week so that they wouldn’t know the power at home was shut-off until you could get it back on?

Mr Romney, recently you stated that you didn’t have anything handed to you and that you worked for everything that you’ve ever had. The press reports that you inherited $1 million in stock from your father. To the middle class (who do NOT earn $200,000+ per year) that sounds like something that was handed to you. Indeed, $1 million dollars is quite a lot to folks like us. You know, the ones that you refer to as the 47%.

I’m One of the 47%

I’ve never had a lot of money. Scraping to get by is something that I’ve gotten good at. I know how to live without a lot of things that most people would take for granted. My friends know how to get by with very little. We have conversations and share laughs about how many different ways you can prepare Ramen noodles. You have insulted many of us who have ever had to rely on food stamps at any time during our lives. The vast majority of people who have ever had to use such a program only do so as their last resort. Not to mention, those of us who have worked our entire lives (myself starting with a work permit at age 13) have paid into these programs and paid our taxes for a long, long time.

In fact, from what I have seen, I’ve paid a much larger portion of my income to taxes than you have, Mr Romney. You think because you earn more money that you should pay a lower rate? Why? I would go so far as to call this unpatriotic. I’ll even go one step further and say that if all the wealthy 1% were forced to pay a flat tax rate, equal across the board with all Americans, in a system where there were no more deductions, that everyone could actually pay about 3% taxes and there would be MORE revenue! That’s HOW MUCH money people like YOU, Mr Romney, are getting by without paying.

You, Mr Romney, are upset with teachers for striking – stating that the kids should come first. Yet the kids are who they are fighting for! They had very legitimate reasons with regards to schools not having the tools needed to teach kids to pass the standardized tests! The same tests that those in Washington say they have to be able to pass! The teachers are graded on how those kids do, even though they are disenfranchised by living in poor districts in the Chicagoland area. They have less access to teaching tools necessary to help those kids. The poorest schools have the same tests to pass, with no libraries, less access to learning tools and equipment. 

You see … it’s the kids who are losing and the teachers are fighting for themselves AND those children…and you don’t get it because you are so far removed. As usual, you are talking about things which you know not enough about! You think middle income is around $200k per year. That means that every grade school teacher in America lives in poverty. What does that say about the country that still mistakenly thinks it is the greatest country on earth? 

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve always been a proud American but there comes a time when you realize that you are living in a world that simply no longer exists. This is not my grandpa’s America anymore! We’ve become complacent about education. We’ve pumped money into wars instead of into our own children and our own country. Our people are struggling, as we continue to pump billions into wars and foreign aid. Our economy was brought to it’s knees by an industry that was fueled by the wealthy trying to become more wealthy. Who has paid the price for this mistake? The poor, working class Americans. We always are the ones who pay the price, whether at the gas pumps, the grocery store or in taxes. Where is our tax shelter? 

You want us to vote for you? You have proven that you are a liar, unworthy of my trust. You have proven that you don’t care about those who don’t see the world through the rose colored glasses of the wealthy 1%. You have shown time and time again that you have no clue what Americans are actually suffering through right now. 

You say you’ll ‘put Americans back to work’, yet your track record has been in making money by shipping jobs over seas. You have made money, by the millions, off the backs of the working class America that I call my friends and family … we are the 47% … we are the military, we are the cab drivers, the city bus drivers, the construction workers, the farmers, the teachers, the waitresses, the students, the elderly, the homeless, the unemployed and the disenfranchised voters. 

Where is OUR America? What have you people done with it? My forefathers fought in the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, the War of 1812 and my grandfather fought in WW I and was still draft registered in WW II ! My other grandpa was in the navy and at Pearl Harbor when it was attacked. His ship went down and he was lucky to have survived. My mom was a six month old baby at that time. My father served during the Korean war. My uncles served during Korea, Vietnam and in the Middle East! My cousins were deployed to the Middle East. My younger brother served in the marines and was at Guantanamo Bay, not to mention deployed all over the world for 6 years

You see, WE – the 47% – have built this country and it wouldn’t run without us! Yet congress has proven that the country can run without them, as they leave Washington with bills waiting to be passed and not passing the Veteran’s Job Act. Our politicians have been hanging us out to dry! You can vote against a bill to help the men and women who put their lives on the line for YOU each and every day?? Then you abandon your post and go home, refusing to vote on anything else until after the election … as if you are trying to hold American citizens hostage over political debate? Congress, I humbly submit that you’ve done very little to help Americans in a long, long time. We’re almost getting used to surviving without any help from you. 

Mr Romney, I’m one of the 47% and I’m mad as hell. You insult me with your absolute ignorance and your indifference. You will not ever represent me. You will not ever represent the 47% of America that you look down on with such disdain … and not because you’ve written us off as takers and moochers who won’t take responsibility for our own lives, but because we are taking responsibility for our lives and our country, with our votes, to make sure that you never EVER speak for us. 

I urge my fellow Americans to vote this year, in numbers greater than ever. Let’s lay-off some politicians who haven’t been getting their jobs done! Let’s send a message to Washington that we are sick and tired of the state of our nation and that it is US – the 47% – who are paying their salaries and that we demand a better job. We want answers, we want jobs, we want prosperity, we want liberty, and a ‘more perfect union’ and we don’t mind replacing them until we get results! Let’s give our president four more years and a congress that will honestly stay in Washington and work with him to get the job done!

Categories: American government, equal rights, gay lesbian, life lessons, Politics, self-help | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Stop Insulting America

  1. GlitterGirl

    Amen! Extremely well written, persuasive, and strong. How can I link this to my Facebook? You’ve expressed this so eloquently I feel a need to share it.

    • Simply copy the address from the address bar and paste it into the comments box on your page. Thanks! I worked on this for a few hours. I actually trimmed it down a little. I was getting more and more upset as I wrote it! LOL I had to go back and re-read it and change it many times. Then I read it out loud and realized it sounded a little like I should have been addressing the democratic convention, but I figured the 47%-ers would forgive me! 🙂

  2. GlitterGirl

    My coffee hasn’t kicked in…thanks for the help 🙂 lol! I was going to say that this sounds like a political rally speech, but I welcome the passion.

  3. You so eloquently said exactly my thoughts!

    • Thank-you Icheininda! I really spoke from my heart. I am upset for America and for the people of this country who have worked with little to show for it. I’m sick to my stomach for the people of PA who are being disenfranchised in the voting process this year. I’m angry that they are purging voter files here in FL again. I want my country back. We all need to get out and vote. We can’t be complacent. We need to send a message…by giving Romney and the repubs this year.

  4. Diana

    Very well•written, true and persuasive. All Americans should hear your voice. We, your fans are already enjoying your other voice. And that is life altering =)

    • Thanks, Diana! Recent events in my life have led me to feel as though I’m in a position to do some good and reach out to many different people in this world and help with situations. I feel a closeness with people who are suffering and this is why I am drawn into this political debate at this point in my life. I see this as a true war between classes of people in America. I see the poorest people in our country being set-up for failure and this is not the America that our forefathers fought and died for. I believe in equal rights for ALL people. Having been discriminated against for simply loving other women my whole life, I swore that I’d never discriminate against anyone as long as I lived. It’s honestly something that you have to teach yourself not to do, because society spends a LOT of time teaching us to be discriminatory. We do it sometimes without even realizing it. I’m simply a human being striving to be better – in a very imperfect world. I posit that if we all took this stance, there’d be so much more room for love and compassion. Where there is love and understanding, there is peace.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

