I Dare You To Move


Kindness is contagious!

Kindness is contagious!

 

 

I believe that everything happens for a reason. Life truly amazes me and I find the irony hard to swallow at times. I also find that the  way things are right there when I need them to be a little bit more uncanny than just coincidence sometimes. I truly feel that I am watched over and blessed. Could this be something that my mind makes up, just to make me feel better? Perhaps … anything is possible … but they DO say that ignorance is bliss. I’m a blissful person these days.

This morning I woke up thinking about the girl I am trying to get home to see. Never in my entire life have I felt more accepted and understood by someone. She accepts all my little quirks, my writing and she even tells me that she feels so connected and moved by my writing. That word that she said was stuck in my head … she felt moved. This was going around and around in my head this morning and I pondered things. I thought about the things that had moved me, in days gone by and in my present. I remembered a guy I had known named Lance.

Lance was very short. He’d been born with a congenital heart defect and while growing up, he’d had to have many surgeries as he grew, to accommodate for the growth in his heart. The doctor’s would go in and make repairs so that he could live. Lance told me one time, over a few beers, that he had died five times on the operating table. He told me that each time he had out of body experiences that he couldn’t explain. Lance told me unbelievable details of the light, looking down on his body, meeting with peers on the other side that were his mentors. He recalled in detail the conversations that they’d had. He remembered that there were five of them, he swears we all have five people on the other side who act on our behalf at all times. He explained to me that our lives were a road map that we had taken a part in planning before we were born.

Lance told me that we all chose the things were supposed to learn in this life, before we were born into it. He told me that we chose the hardships, knowing that when it happened to us, our soul would not remember our planning. It was meant to purify us and teach us. It was the chance to grow from experiences and become greater than we were. It is all in the name of education. He dramatically recalled his ‘conference’ with his mentors and how they told him where he’d made progress and where he needed more work. Then he described how he felt himself sucked back into the body and would wake in recovery. It happened to him each time that his heart had ceased to beat, while hooked to bypass for the repairs he would need to continue living.

I highly doubt that Lance knows that the conversations we had almost 20 years ago would shape me the way that they do now.  Especially considering the fact that I would often get so drunk with Lance that I’d need to be driven home. I was very close to being an alcoholic. I think I was trying to dull the pains that I felt over being gay, crushing on straight women and always thinking that there was no one out there for me. I truly believed that I was going to live a solitary life.

All these years later, I’ve come to learn that none of us are solitary. We are all touched by the world around us at all times. The repercussions of my conversation with Lance, from the year 1989, to the man who asked me to help him with his computer last night, to the gentleman who offered me advice on where to get tires this morning. We all touch each other. It wasn’t until this morning that I made the connection of this song and daring someone to “move” – realizing that you don’t just move yourself….you move EVERYTHING with every move you make.

Your movement moves the air around you, molecules pass around the planet because of the breeze you create. I don’t care who you are and how insignificant you think you may be. You touch thousands of people, even with just intentions. Molecules can carry charges, positive or negative. Thoughts are electrical impulses, traveling along molecules. People can catch a ‘vibe’ because it really is a thing! I’ve come to realize that every good thought I put out there is coming back to me, tenfold. I’m happy. I am happy in a way that I have never felt happiness before.

DJ said to me that she was happy for me that I’d found this happiness and resolved myself with my life and come to terms with my past. She gets it! How can she possibly be so wise? She’s amazing … but she really gets it all and she gets me. This just makes my happiness and my amazement with life feel as if it may overflow. Then it hits me … it is supposed to. How many of you feel better when you read this? Can you carry this mood to the next person in some way?? Imagine a world where your thoughts can attract similar things to you. This is the world in which you live!!

Surround yourself with happiness and happy people. When you see someone who is sad, reach out to them and do something that makes them happy. Spread joy and love and plant the seeds of love wherever you can. Tend to this garden each day and watch it grow in your life.  I dare you to make your life and the world a better place. You will reap what you sow. I may be one person, but I realize that this one person is reaching thousands of others and if you all reach thousands, then that turns into millions in no time. We can make the world a happier place. My friends,  today I dare you to move by moving others!

 

http://www.randomactsofkindness.org/

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/27/random-acts-of-kindness-believe-in-the-human-race_n_1680813.html

http://now.msn.com/random-acts-of-kindness-photo-gallery

http://www.givesmehope.com/category/8/Random+acts+of+kindness

 

Categories: equal rights, life lessons, love, Politics, self-help | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “I Dare You To Move

  1. lea

    i take that dare my friend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Another amazingly inspirational piece of writing onion lady!
    When I read the things you write it all makes sense, why is that ,do you think?
    I reach out to people every single day, knowing that one small act of kindness can make the difference to someone. I give when someone is in need, and I will always drive to wherever to be with someone that needs a shoulder. My friend Alie calls me her guardian angel, she doesn’t know this, but every time she calls me it, it makes me warm inside.
    I don’t think there is any better feeling in the world than the one I get when I am giving. By giving I don’t me in a monetary way, I mean 5 minutes of my time with that slightly less confident child in school, the cigarette when someone asks for one, a cup of tea for a homeless person and 15 minutes chatting about their day. It costs nothing to be kind in this life, I only wish others could see it that way. What a joyous place this world would be. However, I still believe there is no one in this world for me and I shall end up an old maid, but its ok, because I will be a kind old maid and shall feed the homeless from my door. I wish you the best year in the world Jesse, you my friend are an amazing human, human being. You never fail to touch me with your words and you always give me hope and we all need that.
    So 2013 is nearly here, I for one cannot wait. This year will see me living!!

    • Sorry for the delay, Rita. All comments must be approved by me, before they post. I was forced to do this because of a couple of haters who enjoyed trying to be assholes. We all have them. 😦

      Anyway, I appreciate your words. I feel that my job is now to reach as many as I can. I do believe that the vibration of our planet must be raised by those of use who can make a difference. I feel that I’m making a difference when people like you write such wonderful responses. Thanks. I’m sure that you will have a wonderful 2013! 🙂

  3. ritavassie

    🙂

  4. ritavassie

    Happy New Year Jesse, hope this one brings you all you could ever wish for 🙂

  5. ritavassie

    You are most welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

