Wait For Me


Original Art by Julia Miller Title of piece, "Winter Love" Clicking image takes you to her page.

Original Art by Julia Miller Title of piece, “Winter Love” Clicking image takes you to her page.

The place I write articles for has run dry again,

They’ll load more and I’ll just have to wait till then.

I’ve called around about used tires today,

Nobody has any but they’ve got new ones for which I can pay.

Reckon I can wait.

I wrote you a letter, but I know you are working long days.

I know you are trying very hard to make your own way.

I sat down and I tapped it all out on these keys,

I somehow found the nerve to ask you to “run away with me”

Now I sit and wait.

You’re a thousand miles away from me

Somehow in everywhere I look … your face is all I see.

I know I don’t have the right to ask … will you wait for me?

I find myself a thousand miles away from you

But each day I’m closer and, my dear, I implore you

Just hold my hand, my heart will be true

I’ve waited for you for an eternity,

for a thousand more miles, will you wait for me?

I know that your heart is so fragile, so afraid

I won’t hurt you or break any promises to you I’ve made

Even though it’s cold and the winter winds are blowing

I won’t let them keep me long, to you I am going

I just can’t wait.

This highway feels like it’s quicksand sometimes,

It’s just a dark gray clock ticking time with faded white lines.

Watching the miles pass me by, another lonely road

All these people who follow me in each story that I’ve ever told

They know I wait

You’re a thousand miles away from me

Somehow in everywhere I look … your face is all I see.

I know I don’t have the right to ask … will you wait for me?

I find myself a thousand miles away from you

But each day I’m closer and, my dear, I implore you

Just hold my hand, my heart will be true

I’ve waited for you for an eternity,

for a thousand more miles, will you wait for me?

Categories: gay lesbian, lesbian, life lessons, love, self-help | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Wait For Me

  1. Jesse this is wonderful and I have a feeling that she will wait for you. As with everything else if it is meant to be she will be there when you get there.

    I know the wait is the hardest part but no matter what she will be there.

    • Hmmm…I think so too. 🙂 The days are ticking away and I’m itching to get home…but home isn’t necessarily a place, so much as a ‘feeling’ that I have inside of me. I’m fully aware that I’ve been trying to find my way ‘home’ for a long, long time. I know that I will know it when I get there. I have an unshakable feeling that I am heading in the right direction and being drawn like a magnet.

  2. Linda

    In good time, Jesse, in good time…..

  3. lea

    sometimes in life the best things are worth waiting for. I know first hand …i had to wait for my baby but it was sure worth the wait …and i would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

  4. ritavassie

    Patience my friend x

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

